Monday, February 3, 2014

Desperate and Deceptive

Title: Desperate and Deceptive (Contains: The Desperate Game and The Chilling Deception)

Author: Jayne Castle aka Jayne Ann Krentz aka Amanda Quick

Publisher: Berkley Books

Series: Guinevere Jones, Vol 1 (Bks 1 & 2)

ISBN: 9780425271834

Length: 350 pages (186 and 164)

Obtained: Library copy

Why this book?:

I've wanted to read the Guinevere Jones series for years and the books were out of print.  Finally I could read them!


These titles were originally published in 1986.  Generally I'm not a fan of JAK (then JC)'s older works.  I didn't like the attitudes of the men.  Or that the heroine's accepted it.  But I wanted to read these any because they fell under a slightly different genre (romantic suspense rather than straight 80s romance).  Maybe being on the later side of the 80s helped too.  Whatever the case, Zac Justis was okay.  Even though he did repeatedly call her a little idiot.  That was a bit grating.  And even when he did something annoying, Guinevere didn't just accept it.  That really helped.

Anyway, I am enjoying the books.  They have a similar feel to other classic JAK works, with the hero and heroine partnering up to investigate.  I am so relieved that I could enjoy these.  And I look forward to reading Sinister and Fatal (The Sinister Touch and The Fatal Fortune).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to comment. I love to hear from you!

Comments on posts older than 6 days are moderated.